Beaten Heart

The flames I breathe
don’t reach my heart, nor do they fill my soul
My strength is marred, my courage beaten.
I haven’t lived, but lived in a thousand years
my hair is black, my heart all grey.
The tides raptured my rhythm, taking me from feet.
I didn’t know my boat, but winds knew where to knock.
They shoved me in my face, I waited a moment to breathe.
I clasped the sand and water- leaking slow
My affinities with pride made me crumble.
I chose to be silent now, holding my smile- a fake glory
Pray for my safe return,
let alone home be my rescue

_SNazir

Leave a Reply

